History of the Becherhaus
The Becherhaus mountain hut was built in 1894 by the DÖAV, the German and Austrian Alpine Club, on the peak of the same name, "the Becher", a pre-peak of the Wilder Freiger (3,418m). For this, 25 tons of material were brought from Ridnaun/Maiern to the summit. Among the key figures during the construction phase were the Ridnaun innkeeper Stefan Haller, who organised the material transports, and the Pflerscher master carpenter Johann Kelderer, who planned the mountain hut. After a construction period from March to August, the hut was finally opened under the name "Kaiserin-Elisabeth-Schutzhaus". In the same year, the listed chapel "Maria im Schnee" was also built and can still be visited today.
South Tyrol's highest refuge "perches" in the Stubai Alps, near the state border with Austria, at 3,195 m above sea level and is nestled in a dreamlike world of glaciers. Only a few animals still live up here and plants also have a hard time finding their habitat there. Nevertheless, the Becherhaus refuge, which can only be reached on foot or by helicopter, offers running water, hot meals (depending on the weather from around the end of June to September) and cosy sleeping accommodation for up to 100 people.
The mountain hut in the Ridnauntal Valley
Originally, the Becherhaus near Ridnaun had a different name, which had already been decided by the Hanover Section before construction began in January 1893. In order to thank the Prussian-Bohemian sections for their support, today's Becherhaus was named "Kaiserin-Elisabeth-Schutzhaus". The opening finally took place as planned on 18 August, on the birthday of Emperor Franz Joseph. A few years later, after the hut was expropriated by the Italian state, it was given the name Becherhaus because it was built up piece by piece and after arduous work on the summit of the Becher, on the edge of the Übertalferner.